Using LinkedIn Professionally, Not Pretentiously!

LinkedIn is established to be a professional networking site, however I want to ensure that I am using it in the best possible way as it will be visible to any ‘undercover’ agent. Whether it is a potential employer, curious friend, competitive colleague, or random searcher! I already experienced the social platforms diverse reach when persons I was looking to rent a room from said that they had searched and checked my background through my LinkedIn.

stalkingonlinemain

I discovered a blog on strategies using LinkedIn, offering genius advice that I think everyone who uses the website should read.    

“I want you to show me, the reader, some consideration. Be considerate with time and I’ll reward you with mine” (Foote, A, 2013).

A LinkedIn profile should offer a brief snapshot of a person that is easy to read, in particular, the key summary.

“Your LinkedIn Summary is the most important white space on your entire LinkedIn Profile. What you choose to write here can make the difference between professional success or stagnation” (Foote, A, 2013).

But my fear was how do I write a summary of myself without sounding completely pretentious?

“You need to be your own Brand Ambassador and you need to ensure that your professional online prospectus is unique, engaging and well written. Write it in the 1st person. Writing a Summary about yourself in the 3rd person is a theatrical gimmick which never worked. It doesn’t make you more polished, it makes you seem aloof, out of touch and stuffy” (Foote, A, 2013).

Discovering a LinkedIn profile in the 3rd person writing style, I decided how pretentious it did come across to the reader, as nobody has a personal secretary following them around! Writing in 3rd person in my opinion does feel too self-important and isn’t taking command of your own narrative.

I also don’t want my LinkedIn profile to be purely focused on my work skills and experience, but outline what I have to offer in future.

“Your Summary is your chance to not only say what you’re good at, it’s also your opportunity to stand out from the crowd, to differentiate yourself, in a remarkable and memorable way” (Foote, A, 2013).

Another point I thought was useful is that a good profile should end with a call to action.

Reference

Foote, A, 2013, ‘3 Stunningly Good LinkedIn Profile Summaries’, viewed 21 July 2013, http://www.linkedinsights.com/3-stunningly-good-linkedin-profile-summaries/

2 Responses to Using LinkedIn Professionally, Not Pretentiously!

  1. I do trust all the concepts you have introduced in
    your post. They are very convincing and can definitely work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for beginners.

    Could you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thank you for the post.

    • u3068945 says:

      Hi, nlp master practitioner!

      If you agree with some of the concepts alluded to, you will be able to find a more comprehensive list in the link provided.

      Hope that will help, and sorry to redirect you. If you are interested in the topic I may cover it in more detail another time.

      Thanks for your feedback!

Leave a Reply

